Bank’s in Bangladesh

There are 59 scheduled banks in Bangladesh who operate under full control and supervision of Bangladesh Bank with 6 Nationalized commercialized banks, 3 State owned Specialized banks and 9 Foreign Banks .

The balance sheet size of the banking sector7stood at BDT 14,401.9 billion at end-March 2018, At end-March 2018, borrowings, deposits, capital and other liabilities constituted 22.2 percent, 54.5 percent, 13.6 percent and 9.7 percent of the sources of funds of the FIs respectively.

  • here are 41 private commercial banks which are majorly owned by individuals/the private entities. PCBs can be categorized into two groups:
  • Conventional PCBs: 33 conventional PCBs are now operating in the industry. They perform the banking functions in conventional fashion i.e interest based operations.
  • Islami Shariah based PCBs: There are 8 Islami Shariah based PCBs in Bangladesh and they execute banking activities according to Islami Shariah based principles i.e. Profit-Loss Sharing (PLS) mode.
  • Foreign Commercial Banks (FCBs): 9 FCBs are operating in Bangladesh as the branches of the banks which are incorporated in abroad.

Scheduled Banks of BangladeshDetail TRading Code in Dhaka Stock Exchange
AB Bank Limited
Public Limited Company

Founded: April 12, 1982; 37 years agoin Dhaka, Bangladesh
Agrani Bank LimitedFounded
March 26, 1972
Net income : ৳2.646 billion(US$31 million) 2008
Number of employees
Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited Founded :1995
Net income : ৳227.6 crore(US$27 million)
Number of employees : 3,070 (2017) Traded as
Bangladesh Commerce Bank Limitedformer Bangladesh Commerce and Investment Limited was set up on 27 January 1986
Bangladesh Development Bank Limited Founded
Dhaka, 16 November 2009  state owned specialized commercial bank of Bangladesh. Total assets
৳54.55 billion (US$650 million)
Number of employees
About 775
Bangladesh Krishi Bank Bangladesh Krishi Bank fully government-owned bank in Bangladesh in funded 1973
Bank Al-Falah Limited Bank Alfalah is a private bank based on pakistan owned by the Abu Dhabi Group Founded
June 21, 1997
Bank Asia Limited Bank Asia Limited Traded as DSE Founded 27th November, 1999
Headquarters Dhaka, Bangladesh
BASIC Bank Limited BASIC Bank Limited is a fully government-owned bank  founded in 2 August 1988
BRAC Bank Limited Founded 4 July 2001
8 Revenue
৳926 crore (US$110 million)
Number of employees
Commercial Bank of Ceylon Limited
Dhaka Bank Limited( DHAKABANK
Dutch-Bangla Bank Limited DUTCHBANGL
Eastern Bank Limited EBL
First Security Islami Bank Limited FIRSTSBANK(
Habib Bank Ltd.
ICB Islamic Bank Ltd. ICBIBANK
IFIC Bank Limited IFIC
Islami Bank Bangladesh Ltd ISLAMIBANK
Jamuna Bank Ltd JAMUNABANK(
Janata Bank Limited
Meghna Bank Limited
Mercantile Bank Limited MERCANBANK
Midland Bank Limited
Modhumoti Bank Ltd.
Mutual Trust Bank Limited MTB(
National Bank Limited NBL(
National Bank of Pakistan
National Credit & Commerce Bank Ltd NCCBANK
NRB Bank Limited
NRB Commercial Bank Limited
NRB Global Bank Limited
One Bank Limited ONEBANKLTD(
Padma Bank Limited
Premier Bank Limited PREMIERBAN(
Prime Bank Ltd PRIMEBANK(
Probashi Kollyan Bank
Pubali Bank Limited PUBALIBANK(
Rajshahi Krishi Unnayan Bank
Rupali Bank Limited RUPALIBANK(
Shahjalal Islami Bank Limited SHAHJABANK
Shimanto Bank Limited
Social Islami Bank Ltd. SIBL
Sonali Bank Limited
South Bangla Agriculture & Commerce Bank Limited
Southeast Bank Limited SOUTHEASTB(
Standard Bank Limited STANDBANKL(
Standard Chartered Bank
State Bank of India
The City Bank Ltd.The City Bank is a Bangladeshi private commercial bank, funded in 1983
The Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation. Ltd.
Trust Bank Limited TRUSTBANK(
Union Bank Limited
United Commercial Bank Limited UCB
Uttara Bank Limited UTTARABANK(
Woori Bank

Non-Scheduled Banks

OrganisationWeb Link
Ansar VDP Unnayan Bank
Jubilee Bank
Karmashangosthan Bank
Palli Sanchay Bank

Mobile Banking Service in Bangladesh

Bank/Service ProviderMobile Banking ServiceMobile_Partners of operation
Dutch Bangla Bank Ltd. BangladeshDBBL Mobile Banking (Rocket)Banglalink (31 March 2011),
CityCell (31 March 2011),
Grameen Phone (27 November 2012),
Airtel (12 September 2011)
Brac Bank Ltd. BangladeshbKashGrameen Phone (18 January 2012),
Banglalink (July 2011)
United Commercial Bank Ltd. BangladeshUCashGrameen Phone (20 Jun 2014),
Banglalink (March 2014)
Mercantile Bank Ltd. BangladeshMy CashGrameen Phone (01 December 2013)
Banglalink (28 October 2013)
One Bank Ltd. BangladeshOK Mobile BankingGrameen Phone (05 October 2013)
Bangladesh Post Office Ltd.Nagad
Trust Bank Ltd. BangladeshT-cash
Islami BankM-cash
Rupali bankSure Cash

Banking Sector of Bangladesh

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *